ATLAS Experiment CERN

 Featured Stories

Splashes for Synchronization
[April 2015]

ATLAS uses "beam splash" events to provide simultaneous signals to large parts of the detector, and verify that the readout of different detectors elements are fully synchronized. After the first 2015 Large Hadron Collider beam circulation on Easter Sunday, a run dedicated to taking beam splash events was set up on Tuesday evening, 7 April. The resulting beam splash events shown in these images demonstrate the resulting energy deposition in ATLAS.

Shots from the Long Shutdown
[April 2015]

As ATLAS gears up to record data from proton collisions delivered by the Large Hadron Collider (LHC) at an unprecedented energy level, here are glimpses from the last two years of preparations.

ATLAS Is Ready and Waiting for Collisions
[April 2015]

The first long shutdown of the Large Hadron Collider has now ended, after two years of intense but careful activity refurbishing and improving many aspects of ATLAS, mirroring the work to prepare the LHC for collisions at the new energy of 13 TeV. Many dedicated people in ATLAS have worked tirelessly to install a new innermost layer deep inside the experiment, and to make many other important improvements which will enhance the capabilities of the experiment in the coming operation period.

 Other Stories
 Pre 2011 stories      

ATLAS Experiment © 2014 CERN